RSS Feed

Remember When? “Adventures in the Magic Kingdom”

Posted on

MagicKingdom

All of this Epic Mickey talk has me thinking about some of Disney’s other forays into gaming.  Since I’m a child of the 80s, the original Nintendo Entertainment System (NES) particularly resonates with me.  One of my absolute favorite titles for the NES was a Disney game (produced by Capcom) titled Adventures in the Magic Kingdom.  An interesting fact: the music for the game was composed by Yoko Shimomura, who would later compost the music for the popular Kingdom Hearts series.

If you remember the game, come along for a stroll down memory lane.  If you haven’t played it, you can find out what it’s all about by clicking below!

MagicKingdom2

There’s trouble in the Magic Kingdom.  It’s almost time for the parade, but the castle is locked and Mickey needs you to find the six keys to open the gate.  While the game supposedly takes place in the Magic Kingdom (at Florida’s Walt Disney World Resort), I find it interesting that some of the castle images look remarkably like Disneyland’s Sleeping Beauty castle (see the images above).

MagicKingdom3

So you set out in your yellow suit and cowboy hat (I don’t know who picked the attire) to complete the game’s six stages.  There are five stages based on Disney attractions, and one stage of Disney trivia.  Once you complete a stage, you receive a silver key.  The five attractions you get to visit are Autopia, Space Mountain (seen below), Big Thunder Mountain, the Haunted Mansion, and Pirates of the Caribbean.

MagicKingdom4

Some of these stages – like Autopia – are relatively easy.  But don’t think you’re going to get away with that difficulty the entire game.  Space Mountain, for example, requires a lot of focus even though you’re just pushing the corresponding button.  Both Pirates of the Caribbean and the Haunted Mansion require some patience as well.  Be sure to collect stars, because those will be your key to purchasing new lives and continues.  No, you don’t purchase these items in the gift shops after the ride.  They can be found in a menu made available by pressing “Select.”

Once you visit all of the attractions and finish the trivia (some questions are harder than others, as well), you can unlock the castle.  Mickey says thank you, and the parade can then begin.

I loved this game when I was growing up.  I wasn’t able to visit Walt Disney World until much later, so this was really my only exposure to the parks.  We had Nintendo before we had the Disney Channel, so this was the first time I saw any of these attractions.

I have a few other favorite retro Disney video games, and I’ll write about those later.  There is a reason that Epic Mickey has me thinking about these games: the Wii has this wonderful feature called the Virtual Console.  If you aren’t familiar with it, the Virtual Console lets you buy old games and play them on the Wii.  Prior to the release of Epic Mickey, wouldn’t it be great if we could get some of these old games on the only console to have Epic Mickey?  I know it would require some cooperation with some other companies, but can we try to make this happen?  I have my own wish list of games, but post any ideas you have in the comments below!

3 responses »

  1. Wow, this one takes me back. I, too, had no opportunity to go to Disney World/Land as a kid, but Adventures in the Magic Kingdom was as perfect a simulation an 8 year old could ask for. If I ever had gone, I’d have probably been disappointed that the other parkgoers didn’t ask me Disney trivia questions, and I probably would have been kicked out when I jumped off the Haunted Mansion’s chandeliers to throw candles at the ghosts.

    Reply
  2. That’s too funny, Dylan! And as I’m sitting here, my wife just realized that she played this as a kid, too! I’ve gone back and played this recently, and it’s still a challenge to play. Some of these stages are not easy. I would love to see games like this come back on the Wii’s Virtual Console.

    Reply
  3. What’s up, its nice article about media print, we all be aware of media is a impressive
    source of facts.

    Reply

Join the conversation!

