RSS Feed

Review: Disneyland Secrets Gold.

Posted on

Disneyland Secrets Gold - iPhone & Icon - 75%

This app actually launched almost a month ago.  That shows just how far behind I’ve been lately!  I just got time to look over Disneyland Secrets Gold, and I have to say that I really enjoyed the app.  What can you expect from Disneyland Secrets Gold?  You’ll have to jump inside to find out!

Disneyland Secrets Gold - iPhone & Icon - 75%

I’ve said this in some of my other reviews, but it’s probably worth mentioning again.  I’ve never been to California, so I’ve never visited Disneyland.  I’ve been to Walt Disney World a number of times, so I have experience in Disney Parks.  It’s a different experience checking out at app for a park I’ve never visited, though.  That’s just a little disclaimer I want to get out in the open.

Disneyland Secrets Gold IIII

So what kind of secrets are you getting in this app?  According to the folks at TimeStream Software, you get more than 110 secrets packed with 100 photos.  We’re not dividing this between Disneyland Park and California Adventure, either.  That’s 110+ secrets for Disneyland Park alone.  Not too shabby.

Disneyland Secrets Gold I - 4 - Screens

The secrets cover a broad range of topics, and they aren’t throw-away secrets either.  There are some things in there that surprised me.  I know I’ve never been to Disneyland, but I do consider myself a Disney Parks enthusiast.  There are a few secrets I had heard before, but I learned a lot when I was reading through the app.  Here’s a list of what you’ll come across:

  • How to get V.I.P. seating for two right behind the engine on the E.P. Ripley
  • How to get V.I.P. seating in the beautiful Lilly Belle railcar
  • Where to find the actual park bench Walt Disney sat upon when he first dreamed of Disneyland
  • Where to find Walt Disney’s baby photo
  • Which Disney executive was born at Disneyland
  • The story behind “Trader Sam” on the Jungle Cruise
  • What’s so different about City Hall
  • Where to find the second secret pet cemetery at the Haunted Mansion
  • Where to find the original models of Sleeping Beauty Castle, Splash Mountain and all of Disneyland
  • Where to find Walt Disney’s window – And it’s not on Main Street, U.S.A.!
  • How to get your very own Mark Twain Riverboat Pilot’s Certificate
  • Where to find the abandoned remains of the old “Mine Train Through Nature’s Wonderland” attraction
  • Where to find a huge pile of thousands of horseshoes
  • How to make lighting flash on Snow White’s Scary Adventure
  • The story behind the basketball court inside the Matterhorn
  • And so much more!

The secrets aren’t arranged haphazardly around the park.  I really like how they’ve been arranged into a tour that takes you around the park.  At the end of each section, you’ll find a link that you can touch and jump to the next land of the park.  I love this feature.  It’s so much more intuitive to move on to the next part of the tour than to have to jump back to the main menu after you’re done with each section.  That said, though, I do wish the app had a button to jump back to the main menu should I want to do that.

Disneyland Secrets Gold II - 4 - Screens

As usual, the pictures in the app are just beautiful.  Like I said, I’ve never had the joy of experiencing Disneyland in person, but this app gives me a unique way to "visit" the Happiest Place on Earth.  Part of that experience is checking out the pictures in Disneyland Secrets Gold.  I’ve never been disappointed with the pictures in any of these apps, and this is no different.  You’re getting professional quality pictures covering some of the most charming parts of the park. 

Disneyland Secrets Gold III - 4 - Screens

I think you should download the app and give it a try.  It would be a great help if you’re planning a trip to Disneyland, as there are some great tips in there for first-timers.  But there are also a lot of tips that the veterans could use.  If you’re like me and you’ve never been to Disneyland, it’s also a lot of fun to poke around and see the things you haven’t seen in person.  It’s available in the iTunes App Store, and you can find it by clicking here.  It’s only $1.99 (another great reason to buy) and it works on the iPhone, iPod Touch, and iPad.  (I would love to see how this looks on an iPad, but I guess that will have to wait for a later date!) 

Join the conversation!

